Megan Erwin Makes History With Feature Win

History was made at the Charleston Speedway on Saturday night as a woman became the first to win a feature in the Street Stock division and a Hornet driver had his first career wins. There were 104 cars in attendance.

Megan Erwin started from the eighth position and worked her way up the field to become the first woman to claim a UMP Street feature win at the track. Erwin jumped on the high side to make her way to the front, taking the lead near the midway part of the race. Earlier in the year, Erwin was the first woman to set fast time in qualifying and the fourth woman to win heat race. Dennis Wernle won the heat race.

In the UMP Hornet division, Dalton Shafer won his first career heat and feature wins. Shafer held off the other heat winner Mason Lynch in the feature.

Kasey Schrock took the lead early to win the UMP Modified feature. Rodney Standerfer won the B feature. Schrock, R.J. Pruitt, and Michael Bolyard took the heat races.

In the UMP B-Mods, Adam Scherer led from the start to win his second straight feature. Scherer, Steve Phillips, and Nick Miller were the heat winners.

Kenny Carmichael, Jr. won the Winged Late Models feature event. Carmichael won his heat and set the class qualifying record. Chris Rogers won the other heat.

In the UMP Factory Stock division, Jesse Simmons won the feature. Simmons and Gary Walker were the heat winners.

Daylan Chambers won his second feature of the year in the Charleston Super Sprints. Chambers and Kody Barksdale won the heats. Barksdale was making his first trip to the track from Norman, Oklahoma.

This Saturday will be a regular night of racing at the track. Grandstand and pit gates open at 3:00pm. Hot laps begin at 5:30pm with qualifying immediately following.

Forgot Password?